SEPA Payments

Kanturk Credit Union is registered for SEPA payments only

If you wish to transfer funds into your Kanturk Credit Union account electronically, then the payment should be made as a SEPA payment only. If you are aware that a third party is making a payment into your account, it is advisable that they confirm with their financial institution that the payment is made via SEPA. If a payment is sent in any other way, for example by SWIFT, the payment will be rejected by our processing Bank and the Payer may incur a rejection charge that he/she may be liable for.

What is a SEPA payment?

SEPA stands for Single Euro Payments Area. A SEPA payment is sent through the SEPA Scheme. The SEPA payment scheme was created to simplify euro transfers between EU member states.

The SEPA scheme consists of the 27 EU Member States plus Iceland, Norway, Liechtenstein, Switzerland, Monaco, the United Kingdom, and San Marino.

To make a SEPA payment you need:

  1. The IBAN of the person you want to pay
  2. The bank or credit union to which you are sending the payment to be a member of the SEPA
  3. The payment to be in Euro

Please note: Kanturk Credit Union is unable to accept SWIFT payments. You may incur charges if you attempt to send money to your account in Kanturk Credit Union via SWIFT.

Start where you are. Use what you have. Do what you can.